select and check multiple cells

lugwisha

Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
hi, I'm new to Excel VBA. I am trying to write code that will select and check multiple cells. if cells contain a specific integer, then an assigned calculation would be done for the adjacent cells.
I've pasted below my latest attempt to archive the above-mentioned objective

Sub Rebar_total_length ()

Dim total As Integer

Dim A As Integer

Dim b As Integer

Dim c As Integer

Dim d As Integer

Dim e As Integer

total = Range("A5:a80")

If total = 38 Then

Range("g5:g80") = A + b + c

End If

End Sub

Excel Facts

Excel motto
Not everything I do at work revolves around Excel. Only the fun parts.
Welcome to the Board!

Your code really does not make any sense. You have not set A, B, and C equal to anything.
Also, if you want to add the the values in a range, you need to use addition (+) or SUM. This will NOT sum up the values in a range:
VBA Code:
total = Range("A5:a80")

Let's forget about the code for a minute. Can you just please post a small sample of data, and explain exactly what you want to happen?

MrExcel has a tool called “XL2BB” that lets you post samples of your data that will allow us to copy/paste it to our Excel spreadsheets, so we can work with the same copy of data that you are. Instructions on using this tool can be found here: XL2BB Add-in

Note that there is also a "Test Here” forum on this board. This is a place where you can test using this tool (or any other posting techniques that you want to test) before trying to use those tools in your actual posts.

Upvote 0
thanks for reply and pardon me for the late response. I'm basically trying a set a specific calculation on multiple cells by checking if said cells contain a specific number, if yes, then a specific calculation will be assigned, if no then another calculation will be assigned and so on .ill now try and give an example.