Selection Change event

51DegreesNorth

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi,

I'd like to keep an eye an a certain range: if the contents of one or more of the cells in that range changes, the selection change event must call a subroutine to perform some actions.

Private Sub Worksheet_SelectionChange(ByVal Target As Range)

VBA Code:
 If Intersect(Target, Range("A1:A6")) Is Nothing Then
    Exit Sub
 End If
 ' but if there is an overlap:
    Range("E5").Select ' as an example, I'll replace it with Call Some_sub later.
 End Sub

This code works, it selects E5 when the selection change event occurs. That's not what I want. Suppose there's a number in A3 which must be altered or deleted. Click on the cell and you end up at E5 before you had a change to edit or delete A3. The above code is on sheet level. The VBA Project contains no mudules and the workbook is otherwise completely empty.

I'm new to this whole 'events' thing ... Can you point me in the right direction please ? Is this even the correct approach for what I'm trying to do ?

Thank you !

Excel Facts

How to fill five years of quarters?
Type 1Q-2023 in a cell. Grab the fill handle and drag down or right. After 4Q-2023, Excel will jump to 1Q-2024. Dash can be any character.
I'm not understanding. If you don't want to go to E5 then why not just replace that line with what you do want? What you have basically says "If something other than A1 to A6 was selected, do nothing - exit the procedure. Any code outside of that IF block will execute, which is why you go to E5 (which btw will run the event again).

Maybe you're saying you don't just want an event that fires every time you choose a different cell? Could be that you want the worksheetChange event.

Upvote 0
Sounds like you should be using a change event & not a selection change
VBA Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)

Upvote 0
Solution
Thank you both.