send email based on cell value when value is text

Liam_S

Hi,

I am needing assistance in creating a macro to send an email to a certain person based on a cells value as being a text e.g. "Waiting for Admin". I currently use a drop down menu for cells in column AH. Based off the selection from the drop down I want it to send/display an email using outlook.

I have found how to do this based off a numeric value however I'm a novice to excel macros and can't change it to do it on a text value. I am needing creating the macro and adding into excel.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Excel Facts

What is =ROMAN(40) in Excel?
The Roman numeral for 40 is XL. Bill "MrExcel" Jelen's 40th book was called MrExcel XL.
Hey Welcome to the MessageBoard! :)

Maybe try something simple like this:

Code:
[COLOR=#0000ff]Sub [/COLOR]SendMail()
[COLOR=#0000ff]    If[/COLOR] Range("A1") = "Waiting for Admin" [COLOR=#0000ff]Then[/COLOR]
         [COLOR=#0000ff]   With[/COLOR] CreateObject("Outlook.Application").createitem(0) [COLOR=#008000]'0 will create a new email item[/COLOR]
                .To = "MyEmail@email.com"
                .Subject = "My Subject Line Here"
                .Body = "Dear John," & vbNewLine & vbNewLine & "This is my email body"
                .Display [COLOR=#008000]'Change this to .Send[/COLOR]
[COLOR=#0000ff]            End With[/COLOR]
[COLOR=#0000ff]    End If[/COLOR]
[COLOR=#0000ff]End Sub[/COLOR]

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Thanks for your reply.
Only seems to work when I hit run and not automatically when changing the cell.

thanks for your help

Upvote 0
Liam_S,

Put this event change code in the Worksheet Module that your data exists on (i.e. Sheet1 Code Module...etc.) :

Code:
[COLOR=#0000ff]Private Sub [/COLOR]Worksheet_Change([COLOR=#0000ff]ByVal[/COLOR] Target[COLOR=#0000ff] As[/COLOR] Range)

[COLOR=#008000]    'If value in AH is edited and it the value = "Waiting for Admin" then send the email....[/COLOR]