Shortcut to show/hide certain columns?

slam

Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2019
I thought my answer to this was going to be Grouping, a feature I've never used before, but I get the message "This can't be done on a multiple range selection", so I need an alternative solution.

I want columns A, B, C, D to be shown at all times. Then I need functionality to show all columns, or only certain columns (in additional to A, B, C, D). Specifically, it would be each 7th column starting with E. So, for instance, a button to show columns E, L, S, Z, AG, AN, another button to show F, M, T, AA, AH, AO. And so on...

At the moment, my data extends to column AT, but this data will extend by 7 columns per month, so it would be good to set it up to dynamically capture the additional columns from the start.

Is there any built in functionality for this, or is a macro the solution?

Thanks

Excel Facts

Who is Mr Spreadsheet?
Author John Walkenbach was Mr Spreadsheet until his retirement in June 2019.
This should hide one of the sets. If they are already hidden, then change 0 to some number, or you can use .Autofit
VBA Code:
Sub Button7_Click()
Dim i As Integer, n As Integer
Dim col As Column

n = 5
For i = 0 To 42 Step 7
    Sheets("Sheet4").Columns(n + i).ColumnWidth = 0
Next

End Sub
Not sure why you'd want a button for each set? That means 12 buttons for 12 months of the year? Why not one button and somehow pass the starting column to the code. Perhaps a range inputbox, or cell double click or anything that would provide that. Inputbox could also provide the width if you knew what that one number should be.

Upvote 1
Solution
something like
Sheets("Sheet4").Range("E:DF").EntireColumn.Hidden = True
or to use your code

ActiveSheet.Range("E:DF").EntireColumn.Hidden = True

Upvote 1
Hi Micron,