Slow query / not finishing at all

pella88

Board Regular
Hello everyone,

I am still a beginner in Access, however, I have no other solution for my problem, so I must use Access (to be honest, best solution would be SQL, however clients which will be using my solution don't have SQL servers or SSMS, and excel is of course out of the question due to high volume of the data).

So, the idea is to create a tool, which will create a report for an overview of balances based on segments and similar. I have total of 8 data tables and 3 static (mapping) tables.

Tables are set up with indexes (fields which are used as connection in queries) and primary keys (where available). Tables have up to 150 fields (not all of them are filled, but I did limit the size of the fields according to technical specification I have for these tables).

I created a form with buttons (VBA codes) which enable user to import data tables each month (previous month gets deleted). And they work perfectly.

After import is finished, I created following queries:
1. Table1_Query and Table2_Query - for these two tables I get an extract of certain fields which are to be joined with rest of the tables and give certain conditions
2. Table'x'_Query - for 4 data table I have a query which selects fields which I need for reporting, including data from first two queries. All queries have same number/name fields so it is possible to get a union later on (due to updates of certain fields I need later on, explanation below).
3. Union_Query - I join all data into a single query
4. Create_Table - I use create table query in order to convert Union_Query in order to do an update which I already mentioned (afaik it Is not possible to do update of query fields).
5. Update_Table - There is total of 4 updates. Updates are in fact conversion of amounts in different currencies according to static table FX_rates, and they are being converted into a EUR.