Some Noob Questions

Windyisle

Hi there. I'm very new to excel and a lot of the answers here are over my head. I'm totally okay with learning what to do, but I just need someone to narrow down what I'm supposed to be looking for.

I need to find a number in one excel file:
terms will look like this: HD #1423 -blah blah blah - I need to grab '1423'

Then look up the listing for the item in another file - I want data in two of the columns

Paste this data into a third file

I also want to lookup how many times a certain phrase is mentioned and return the number to a cell in my third file

I know this stuff is probably pretty easy. I'm happy to learn what I need to know, but if someone could tell me what functions I should be learning about to make this happen, it'll make my life a lot easier.

Thanks,

WindyIsle

Excel Facts

How to calculate loan payments in Excel?
Use the PMT function: =PMT(5%/12,60,-25000) is for a $25,000 loan, 5% annual interest, 60 month loan.
Welcome to the board.

As a starter for ten, I would suggest MID to grab 1423, VLOOKUP for looking up in columns and COUNTIF for counting instances of a phrase.

But we would need to see a sample of your data to offer more useful advice.

Upvote 0
Awesome.

Yes. Ok. Now I'm starting to make some headway. Really all I needed was a few terms that I could start learning about without feeling overwhelmed.

Here's a more detailed description of what I'm doing, if anyone knows where to point me in the right direction, that would rock the casaba.

I work for a broadcaster and I'm doing music reports. Basically, any time a segment airs on the network I need to send information on what music it had in it, the composer and the duration the music played. There is a master list of all the links that have this information.