SumIfs vs. index match match

LPguy

Good morning all,

I could use some advice on implementation of VBA for work. I've been lurking this forum and others trying to figure this out but have had pretty much zero luck.

The background:

I need to track cash register variance, and have been tasked with modernizing our system. I have approximately 70 registers across six locations that need I am responsible for, and if this works, it may go company wide. we use this to identify accounting and operational errors, as well as to catch employees who are stealing.

The data:

I receive a weekly excel file showing registers that are out of balance. The report shows date, register number, location number, and variance by tender type (register expected $100 in cash, bank processed $90, report shows positive $10 in cash. Don't ask why it's reversed like this... if there is an overage it is reported as a negative. Easy fix though).

The desired outcome:

I have a master spreadsheet that I currently input these weekly results into by hand. It allows for easy visualization to research patterns, specific incidents, etc. I input the numbers onto the master chart, then color code based on type/cause and insert comments as needed.

The spreadsheet is set up with dates in the columns and register numbers in the rows.

I have successfully used SumIfs and Index Match Match inside the individual cells to pull data from the weekly report (I append another sheet in the workbook with the raw report).

The problem is that when I edit the individual cells (delete variance because accounting fixed an operational issue etc), the formula will be deleted as well. Plus the file size is a concern, as I have to email this out from time to time. Lastly, I have encountered similar workbooks trying to do this that have locked my computer for long periods with "calculating" taunting me from the bottom right of my screen.

The desired outcome:

Create a macro that will do the following: