Trouble using VBA to create ActiveX ListBox on a Worksheet

NigelTufnel

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Apologies in advance for what will be a long post, but I've tried a lot of things and I want to be as clear as possible in explaining my problem to maximize the likelihood that someone can help.

To sum up my problem, I can place an ActiveX control on my worksheet, but I cannot seem to edit its properties as I desire. My head is about to explode after hours of trying to understand OLEobjects and ControlFormat properties.

I am a novice VBA programmer with years of VBA programming, yet with little experience dealing with ActiveX controls. I am using Excel 2007 in Windows 7.

I am trying to place a multi-select listbox control (including checkboxes) on an Excel worksheet programmatically. I can easily place this control and format it to my heart's content from the Developer Menu in the Excel 2007 Ribbon interface, but I need to be able to do this from within VBA. (The user of my application will be creating these list boxes by pressing a button.)

I'd prefer to use the simpler Forms ListBox control, but from what I can tell, it doesn't seem to allow the option to place checkboxes next to the list items, which is a feature my users would find very helpful.

OK, so I recorded a macro in which I placed the ListBox ActiveX control on my worksheet and set the properties using the properties dialog box. The first thing I noticed was that the control properties I selected during the session were not recorded in the macro. Bummer. I then modified the code to produce the following snippet:

PHP:
ActiveSheet.OLEObjects.Add(ClassType:="Forms.ListBox.1", Link:=False, _
    DisplayAsIcon:=False, Left:=369, Top:=174, Width:=106.8, Height:=54.6 _
    ).Select

Selection.ListFillRange = "MyRange"
The ListBox was successfully filled with the desired items. So far, so good.

Then I added the following line...and it gave me an error:
PHP: