Trying to Calculate hours worked over given week.

tstep53

Hello,

Sort of self taught here and struggling. Excel not really my strong suit. Working on an employee schedule that allows me to add up the hours scheduled for the week. Each day is in split cell format (B1= time in, C1= time out). This carries out for the week D & E, F & G, etc. I have the formula for subtracting time in from time out and then adding it through the whole week for a total.

=HOUR((C4-B4)+(E4-D4)+(G4-F4)+(I4-H4)+(K4-J4)+(M4-L4)+(O4-N4))

To test as I wrote I used 4 hour days for all 7 days. Clock on at 12:00 PM and leave at 4:00 PM. Formula works up to day 5 (K4-J4) with a value of 20, but then suddenly when day 6 and 7 are calculated I get a value of 4, rather than 28.

Am I missing something, or is there another formula I should be using?

Thanks,
tstep

Excel Facts

Pivot Table Drill Down
Double-click any number in a pivot table to create a new report showing all detail rows that make up that number
Assuming your sign in/sign out start in A1/A2 and carry across, enter this formula in O3
=SUM((B3-A3)+(D3-C3)+(F3-E3)+(H3-G3)+(J3-I3)+(L3-K3)+(N3-M3))

Upvote 0
Ok, I custom formatted the result cell as suggested, but result is "0:00". Desired result should be 28:00. Either way the cell is formatted, the result was correct up until the last 2 days in the formula. Up through 5 days I had a result of 20 hours on the week. When adding 2 more days (4 hours each = 8 more hours) I should show 28 in result cell. Instead, the formula quits adding correctly and gives "4" as result with general formatted cell and 0:00 when custom formatting.

Upvote 0
Are you sure you custom formatted as [h]:mm ?
28 hrs will return 4 if formatted as usual (hh:mm)

Upvote 0