Trying to open misbehaving XLSM file: eliminating macros as a cause?

EdNerd

Recently we've come across a problem with certain XLSM files, and only this one class of files. When certain users attempt to open certain files, all of Excel - the application and any other open Excel files of any kind - simply and abruptly close. The macro-filled template for the misbehaving files was built 10-15 years ago, and updated every now and then with added functions. I suspect a few factors might be involved: something corrupted in the file, old spaghetti code (all mine!), updates to Windows, Excel, and security patches, and older computers with lower processing speeds and capacities. I'm just a self-taught VBA dabbler, and have no clue what might be causing the log jam.

Finally, I have one such file on my computer to examine. I was trying to eliminate the AutoOpen macros as a factor, and tried to open while holding down Shift. The file still crashed the application. Does the SHIFT key trick still work?? Then I tried changing the file extension from XLSM to XLSX. But got an error that the file extension didn't match the file format. I'm guessing because internally it's still an XLSM file with a VBA component? I even tried making a ZIP file, then deleting everything in the VBA module, and putting it back together as a file - but still no go.

Is there a sure-fire way to open this without the Auto macros firing? Or to eliminate the macros from the file? I'm just trying to eliminate macros as a possible cause of the crash.

Excel Facts

When did Power Query debut in Excel?
Although it was an add-in in Excel 2010 & Excel 2013, Power Query became a part of Excel in 2016, in Data, Get & Transform Data.