Old XLSM files crashing Excel; looking for help to troubleshoot, please

EdNerd

This is a large corporate outfit. I will never talk to the upper echelon IT people who push out security and program updates and expect us to just go with their flow. I'm a self-taught coder, gleaning stuff out of books and from forums like this one. Mebbe 15 years ago, with XL2003 (remember toolbars and buttons??), I created a macro-laden Excel file to help our local work section track workflow in various projects. (Note: I'm a tech writer, not a computer programmer. I've had one computer class in beginning Access database.) Over time, I've added a few bits and pieces of code to correct issues ("gee - I never expected someone to try to use it like that!"). But essentially it's still the same template. The file doesn't reach out to the internet for anything, but it does occasionally want to touch another local office network server - which may have changed addresses over the years.

Now, we are using Microsoft Office 365. And corporate - both global and local - IT dept keeps pushing security patches and other updates without any path for feedback for "how does this affect you?" And one by one our workflow tracker files are biting the dust. When we try to open them, Excel closes - not just that file, but any and every Excel file open on your machine just disappears. No error messages or pop-ups - just instantly gone. No rhyme or reason as to which one will die - no one user, or server location, or project demand set in common. Occasionally someone gets an error message about a corrupt file that needs repair, but not very often.