Using a MACRO to run Queries and save as Excel

rbraitz

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Good Morning, I have an access database where I wrote a simple macro that exports a simple query into excel format and then emails the excel spreadsheet to the recipient. For example, the database is sales records, and basically I am sending each salesperson a list of their daily sales. Problem I have is that some salesmen don't have sales for a particular day, so the macro is sending out empty excel spreadsheets. How can I place something in the access macro that says/looks to see if the query has results. I am not a coder and don't know VBA.....but if I need to change the macro or the query that would be ok too. The macro has 100 events in it, one for each salesperson. TIA

Excel Facts

What does custom number format of ;;; mean?
Three semi-colons will hide the value in the cell. Although most people use white font instead.
Most db developers don't use macros beyond maybe autoexec - me included. What macro actions are you using to send the data (one person example should be enough).
FWIW, this seems like a job for code.

Upvote 0
please see example of macro below
1650894955387.png

Upvote 0
Suggest you put criteria in the query that will eliminate records where something is null or > 0 for example. I can't see enough there to be specific. Perhaps if there is an amount column for the sales period, put >0 to get only records with sales for the period. I'm guessing you have 100 of these macro actions because there are 100 emails going out. That must have been a lot of work. Better hope IT doesn't do something like change the email domain (or anything else like that) or you'll be fixing every one of them!

Upvote 0