variable not defined

earp_

Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
305
Hi,
I have this structure:
Sub macro()

Dim columnSheet2 As range


With ThisWorkbook
Set valueCell = .Sheets("sheet1").range("B2")
Set timeCell = .Sheets("sheet1").range("J2")
End With

If timeCell.Text <> "#N/A" Then


myHour = Hour(timeCell)
myMinute = Minute(timeCell)

'#######################
If (myHour = 5) Then
If (myMinute = 0) Then
Set columnSheet2 = A65536

...
if I run it it gives me an error here
Set columnSheet2 = A65536
saying variable not defined, why?
 

Excel Facts

Best way to learn Power Query?
Read M is for (Data) Monkey book by Ken Puls and Miguel Escobar. It is the complete guide to Power Query.

Richard Schollar

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
23,707
Hi

Where have you defined A65536? VBA is interpreting it as a variable - did you mean it to be a range reference (in which case you need to wrap it around with Range("A65536"))
 
Upvote 0

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
40,380
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
Because I guess you mean:
Code:
Set columnSheet2 = Activesheet.Range("A65536")
 
Upvote 0

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
40,380
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
You can use:
Code:
Cells(Rows.Count, "A")
or:
Code:
Cells(Rows.Count, 1)
depending on what your loop is.
 
Upvote 0

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
40,380
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
You could do that with what I suggested, just change the column letter or number. But based on what you posted originally, you want:
Code:
Dim columnSheet2 as string
' other code here
columnSheet2 = "A65536"
'...
Worksheets("Sheet2").Range(columnSheet2).End(xlUp).Offset(1, 0).PasteSpecial xlValues
 
Upvote 0

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
40,380
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
You have to change the declaration of columnSheet2 so it is declared as String not as a Range as you had it before. Then you do not use the word Set.
 
Upvote 0

Forum statistics

Threads
1,191,177
Messages
5,985,139
Members
439,941
Latest member
robertv13

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top