VBA Book Recommendation (not a question)

stuartw

Board Regular
Hi All

I noticed there are a lot of posts that start with "I'm new to VBA...." (me being the author of some of them) so I thought I'd share a book recommendation with you. I'm not normally a fan of the "For Dummies" series but if you are pretty proficient at Excel and you'd like to take your skills to the next level I would highly recommend "Excel 2007 VBA Programming for Dummies" by John Walkenbach.

If the immortal sentence "this can be done with code" makes you want to give up then it's a must read.

I've been using it for a couple of weeks and I haven't put it down - easy to read and "fun" (if you like that sort of thing).

Toodle oo for now.

Stu

Excel Facts

Lock one reference in a formula
Need 1 part of a formula to always point to the same range? use $ signs: $V$2:$Z$99 will always point to V2:Z99, even after copying
I share your view on this...
It is an easy book and well built. Lots of small concrete examples.

Upvote 0
If there are any mods out there reading this was wondering if it might be useful to have a recommended reading list made sticky? Helping people to help themselves being the idea.

Upvote 0
Curious if that book includes an issue I ran into just this past week; when it is better to use Excel features than code. I spent two or more days working on a complex bit of code to loop through masses of data and the processor hit was overwhelming to the point it wouldn't run to completion. I post the issue to the board and someone tells me "a pivot table will do that". Two minutes later I had the desired effect.

Upvote 0