Need Special Books, to Get Deeper into Syntax of Formulas and VBA

daveG777

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I just read the "Excel Book Suggestions" thread.

However, I might be in an unusual category. For decades, I’ve used Excel and earlier spreadsheets (even the original VisiCalc, which I loved, and when it was the only thing available) to do small and large projects for companies, and I even taught individuals up to a "middle" level. However, I only made myself learn what I specifically needed for each project, and now I’d like to really get into the guts of the syntax of formulas and VBA. I’m not a beginner, and I'm quite comfortable with writing organized and structured code. However, as you can imagine, I’ve been unsystematic and even sloppy in my learning.

Copying others' work and just testing it a little and then throwing it into a module just doesn't cut it for me anymore. I want to stand behind every line of code I make, even if it's just for my own sake.

Also, I'm not looking for a reference manual. I don't want something like a dictionary but, rather, a book that teaches.

Any suggestions for a great book, or books, for me? Maybe, some day, I'll be able to contribute to this forum!

My special gratitude for all the great, and accurate, help I've recently received! It's been exciting!

Dave

Excel Facts

Bring active cell back into view
Start at A1 and select to A9999 while writing a formula, you can't see A1 anymore. Press Ctrl+Backspace to bring active cell into view.
I learnt the same way with books in the 80's - using lotus 123 & early versions of Excel.
I used some of the QUE books and beginners books, - which i purchased , now long gone to Charity shops , as Excel brings out new functions with each version, and recently with 365 subscription version, new functions released with updates.

Back then i also used quite a few books from the local Library

Taught myself , Powerpoint, Access , Excel and also webdesign HTML