VBA macro to Collapse/Expand all grouped rows/columns

imaguy77

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2008
Messages
21
Hi all,

I'd like to be able to run a macro which would collapse or expand all grouped rows and columns for all selected worksheets. When I say collapse or expand, i don't need any selection dialog box or anything...just the code which would accomplish it. Thanks!!
 

Excel Facts

Can Excel fill bagel flavors?
You can teach Excel a new custom list. Type the list in cells, File, Options, Advanced, Edit Custom Lists, Import, OK

Jerry Sullivan

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
8,787
The Outline.ShowLevels method allows you to show a specified number of
RowLevels and Column Levels.

To Collapse all Rows and Columns...
Code:
Sub Collapse_All()
    ActiveSheet.Outline.ShowLevels RowLevels:=1, ColumnLevels:=1
End Sub

To Expand all Rows and Columns...
Code:
Sub Expand_All()
    ActiveSheet.Outline.ShowLevels RowLevels:=8, ColumnLevels:=8
End Sub

And anything in between....
Code:
Sub Collapse_Rows_to_Level2_Expand_All_Columns()
    ActiveSheet.Outline.ShowLevels RowLevels:=2, ColumnLevels:=8
End Sub
 

Jerry Sullivan

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
8,787
I just noticed you want to apply this to all on selected worksheets.

I'd like to be able to run a macro which would collapse or expand all grouped rows and columns for all selected worksheets.

You can merge the code I posted with the method of iterating through
selected worksheets that Domenic provided you in your recent post.

The result for Expand_All would look like this.

Code:
Sub Expand_All()
    Dim sh As Object
    For Each sh In ActiveWindow.SelectedSheets
        If TypeName(sh) = "Worksheet" Then
            sh.Outline.ShowLevels RowLevels:=8, ColumnLevels:=8
        End If
    Next sh
    Set sh = Nothing
End Sub

You can adapt the other variations the same way.
 

Jerry Sullivan

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
8,787

ADVERTISEMENT

Glad to hear that helped.
 

jbaccash

New Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2012
Messages
3
This works great for expanding all rows/columns. I'm having some trouble searching online to find code to expand only one group of columns. I'm running Excel 2010. Googling around, I'm finding code such as:

Range("B:C").Columns.ShowDetail = True

Range("B:C").Columns.ShowLevels ColumnLevels:=2

I'm also guessing with code such as:

Range("B:C").Outline.ShowLevels ColumnLevels:=2

Columns("B:C").Columns.ShowLevels ColumnLevels:=2

I keep getting a "Runtime error 438: Object doesn't support this property or method".

Forgive me but I'm almost a total novice when it comes to writing code in VBA. My experience to date is recording clunky macros and then messing with the resulting code. Clicking on a particular "+" for a group doesn't generate any code when recording.

Any help is appreciated.
 

jbaccash

New Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2012
Messages
3

ADVERTISEMENT

I also find it strange that

Rows(9).ShowDetail = True

works to expand a particular group of rows but

Columns(C).ShowDetail = True

does not work for columns.
 

Jerry Sullivan

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
8,787
Hi and Welcome to the Board,

You could use either of these...

Code:
Columns("C").ShowDetail = True

Columns(3).ShowDetail = True
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,148,108
Messages
5,744,878
Members
423,907
Latest member
zerocool88

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top