VBA to Color a Single word (or Phrase) in a large population

seeja001

Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
Platform
  1. MacOS
Hello - I'm new to the message board and NOT a programer (but I do naively dabble in VBA a bit). My task is simple: I have many cells in a sheet (~ 1500 lines) that may contain a word AND I want to color the word (or phrase) so as to easily spot it visually when reviewing the sheet. Cell Content varies from 0 < x < 1200 characters. This can be don manually, but it's a real pain. I've used a few routines that when executed, color ALL text contained within the cell rather than isolating the single word of phrase. My latest version modified some example code using a class module approach, but throws compiler errors for the "With/End With" or "For Each" constructs upon execution. Would appreciate any help from the more seasoned folks if possible. Thanks.

Class Module:

Option Explicit
Private pPhrase As String

Private Sub Class_Initialize()
Worksheets("Sheet1").Select
End Sub

Private Sub Class_Terminate()
End Sub

Public Property Let Phrase(Value As String)
pPhrase = Value
End Property

Public Property Get Phrase() As String
Phrase = pPhrase
End Property

Normal Module:

Option Explicit

Sub UsingColorWordClass()
Dim w As ColorWord
Dim r As Range
Set w = New ColorWord
Set r = Range("ab3:ab1500")
w.Phrase = "HOUSE"

'With w
' .Font.Bold = True
' .Font.Color = vbRed
'End With

For Each w In r
w.Color = vbRed
Next

Debug.Print w.Phrase
Set w = Nothing

End Sub

Excel Facts

What did Pito Salas invent?
Pito Salas, working for Lotus, popularized what would become to be pivot tables. It was released as Lotus Improv in 1989.
I believe that you are receiving the error because your ColorWord Class does not have Font properties.

Upvote 0