VBA to Color a Single word (or Phrase) in a large population

seeja001

Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
Platform
  1. MacOS
Hello - I'm new to the message board and NOT a programer (but I do naively dabble in VBA a bit). My task is simple: I have many cells in a sheet (~ 1500 lines) that may contain a word AND I want to color the word (or phrase) so as to easily spot it visually when reviewing the sheet. Cell Content varies from 0 < x < 1200 characters. This can be don manually, but it's a real pain. I've used a few routines that when executed, color ALL text contained within the cell rather than isolating the single word of phrase. My latest version modified some example code using a class module approach, but throws compiler errors for the "With/End With" or "For Each" constructs upon execution. Would appreciate any help from the more seasoned folks if possible. Thanks.

Class Module:

Option Explicit
Private pPhrase As String

Private Sub Class_Initialize()
Worksheets("Sheet1").Select
End Sub

Private Sub Class_Terminate()
End Sub

Public Property Let Phrase(Value As String)
pPhrase = Value
End Property

Public Property Get Phrase() As String
Phrase = pPhrase
End Property

Normal Module:

Option Explicit

Sub UsingColorWordClass()
Dim w As ColorWord
Dim r As Range
Set w = New ColorWord
Set r = Range("ab3:ab1500")
w.Phrase = "HOUSE"

'With w
' .Font.Bold = True
' .Font.Color = vbRed
'End With

For Each w In r
w.Color = vbRed
Next

Debug.Print w.Phrase
Set w = Nothing

End Sub

This is as close as I can get. Make sure to try it on a copy of your Workbook as unexpected results may occur.
VBA Code:
Sub Format_Words()

Dim wb As Workbook, sht As Worksheet, rng As Range, cell As Range
Dim fnd As Range, str As Variant, sStr As Variant, srchTxt As String
Set wb = Workbooks("File-45_(M-Test).xlsm") 'Change to name of copy until tested
Set sht = wb.Sheets("Sheet1")
Set rng = sht.Range("AB3:AB1500")
srchTxt = "house"

For Each cell In rng