Will someone please explain this code - only a few lines?

msb1977

Board Regular
Hi all

I'm a novice with VBA and am trying to understand what this section of code means and what it actually does. I know the end result is that it is used to set the range for filtering from a list.

Code:
Dim wbBudget              As Workbook 
Dim wbOSR                  As Workbook  
Dim Criteria_Proj(100)   As String    
Dim FirstRow                As Integer    

FirstRow = 1
While wbBudget.Sheets("Filter Lookup").Cells(FirstRow + 1, 2) <> ""
   Criteria_Proj(FirstRow) = wbBudget.Sheets("Filter Lookup").Cells(FirstRow + 1, 2)
   FirstRow = FirstRow + 1
Wend

This part I don't need explained, but am including for reference.

Code:
wbOSR.Sheets(1).Range("Table1").AutoFilter Field:=6, Criteria1:=Criteria_Proj, Operator:=xlFilterValues

Last edited:

Excel Facts

Get help while writing formula
Click the italics "fx" icon to the left of the formula bar to open the Functions Arguments dialog. Help is displayed for each argument.
You could be a little more clear in what you are asking, but let's give it a try.

The While structure is looping down in the "B" column starting in the second row until it finds a blank cell, when it stops.
While looping it adds all cell values to an array with up to 100 elements in it, so it can later filter the sixth column in table1 with multiple criteria (all elements value s in the array)

Hope i've helped.

Upvote 0
Thanks. That makes perfect sense. If you don't mind I have a few more questions...

1. Can Criteria_Proj(100) be adjusted to say 25 or 1000 or is 100 standard syntax?

2. If it loops until it finds a blank cell, why does it still filter on blanks?

Upvote 0
Thanks. That makes perfect sense. If you don't mind I have a few more questions...

1. Can Criteria_Proj(100) be adjusted to say 25 or 1000 or is 100 standard syntax?

2. If it loops until it finds a blank cell, why does it still filter on blanks?