Worksheet Change_Event not working on cell value change

Lil Stinker

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
Hey folks-
I'm still learning my way through Excel VBA and I've hit another seemingly simple roadblock. Maybe you can help me understand what's going on here or provide better code.

I would like to have a shape display whenever any cell within a range has a specific word appear. My code is pretty straightforward, and it works whenever I enter the word but what I don't understand is why it doesn't work when I load the same word into the cell range from another worksheet.
VBA Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
If Target.CountLarge > 1 Then Exit Sub
If Not Intersect(Target, Range("D16:D42")) Is Nothing Then
   If InStr(Target.Value, "cat") Then
      Shapes("shape1").Visible = msoCTrue 'show image
   Else
      Shapes("shape1").Visible = msoFalse 'hide image
   End If
End If