Placeholding blank cells
MZ Tools makes life easier for the Excel VBA coder
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Placeholding blank cells

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

     
    I have a spreadsheet which uses xldown to determine the end of a range of a dynamic column. The problem is that when cells are populated but then deleted, it is like they are still there. If you hit CNTRL+END the cursor goes to the last cell of the just-deleted area instead of shifting up to where the new data ends.

    Anybody have any ideas as to why this happens and how to make it stop or reset the end of the range? Thanks.

  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sunny, spring-like Hull
    Posts
    3,339
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think you need to save the file first.

  3. #3
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,169
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi

    Very common this one, sounds like you have deleted the text or numbers from the cells . ment to or accident dont matter this is what i refer to as cleaned up cells thay are still dirty cells that is blank but excel still sees them and if they had text in them still.

    FIX:

    Select all the empty cells and right click, select clear contence and click, this forces exzcel to didtroy data unconditionally so they are empty cells,

    Now try....


    Free Excel based Web Toolbar available here.

    Jack in the UK
    J & R Excel Solutions
    "making Excel work for you"

  4. #4
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sunny, spring-like Hull
    Posts
    3,339
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sorry, Jack, this and deleting the columns/ rows, shifting them left/up etc only works if the file is then saved. Excel still thinks they're dirty until you save.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks guys. That works.

  6. #6
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

      
    You can also reset the worksheet extent by using ASAP utilities' (see www.asap-utilities.com) Sheets | Reset Excel's last cell menu command.

    This utility is freeware!

    [ This Message was edited by: Mark W. on 2002-03-21 15:55 ]

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 

 
DMCA.com