Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Excel won't let me save my file!!!

  1. #1
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    359
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Excel won't let me save my file!!!

    Excel won't let me save my file! When i try to save it it says "Your changes could not be saved to "*.xls", but were saved to a temporary document named "F65aa000". Close the existing document, then open the temporary document and save it under a new name".

    Every time I try to save it under an existing file name, it won't do it and the existing file is then renames to some alphanumeric file and the same message appears.

    PLEASE HELP!! This file contains macros that took a long time to do!!



    [ This Message was edited by: cosmos75 on 2002-04-08 12:54 ]

  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP Anne Troy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Westwood NJ
    Posts
    2,582
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Why don't you save it to a different name? Or try saving to a different location? Just get it saved anywhere. Reboot your PC. If you're on a network, give it 15 minutes or so to refresh (the network, that is), and then try again.
    ~Anne Troy

  3. #3
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    359
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Tried to save after rebooting, although I didn't wait.

    I am on a network but I save my files on my local hard drive. Different name, different directory doesn't work.

    Please HELP!

  4. #4
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Southfield,MI USA
    Posts
    2,308
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hiya,

    Unless anyone can think of anything else...

    Copy all your code to another file so you don't have to that all over again (in VB editor or heck just a text file. Then select all the sheets and do an EditMove or Copy Sheets (check "create a copy") to a new workbook. Then you may be able to save that new workbook under a new name. If Excel doesn't crash, you can then paste the code into the new file.

    Good luck (we've all been there)
    Adam

  5. #5
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    359
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Asala42,

    That's actually what I did before I came back here to post that, but I am glad that you posted it up for anyone who might have been checking this before I got my answer up.

    VERY RELIEVED!!,
    Cosmos75

  6. #6
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,184
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi guys


    just some ideas, here

    network eh! what OP you running

    OK look i strongle suggest noy local dribve saves, not tape back up, the ICT dept will back up all network traffic everynight or onthe hour if the are on the ball. so no loss.

    OK more..

    re boot, or as i call cold boot, as suggested after 15 minutes its pointesee cold boot 2 mins max is OK if the netwotrk is up it will wor or all around you will srream blue murder as network trashes again IT dept problem.

    Good tips

    ANY script code you rite export the bas file so easy import to any module

    also if not save why not, youknow to back up dont you that the first think so run the back up from last sabve and re name save as >>>>> ABC.backupCurrent whatever so you can tell the differnce,

    If no back up... try the exoprt VBA bas files.. and rebuild the wkbk.....

    I am very boaring VERY VERY VERY boaring, i ssave through out the day copys of my file (main data file - currect worksd ledger) scipts and all to the network as asave as file name date time,,, and my IT dep for ever say TO MUCH SPACE takn up.. i delete old wkbks.. i have loads.. good practice.. remember to do it.so ever time i run a script i have code that backs up the whole wkbk and button that does the same ever tine i leave my desk....

    kust a way i work... never do i sweat.. distroy all my work,.. 5 mins im sorted.....


    Free Excel based Web Toolbar available here.

    Jack in the UK
    J & R Excel Solutions
    "making Excel work for you"

  7. #7
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    359
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Jack in the UK,

    How do I export the VBA bas (base?) file?? Do you mean copy the code into a Word Document?

    Care to share the script that you use to "run a script i have code that backs up the whole wkbk and button that does the same ever tine i leave my desk.... "?


    Thanks!

  8. #8
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Millbank, London, UK
    Posts
    1,790
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default


  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Re: EMERGENCY!! HELP!! Excel won't let me save my file!!!

    I am having a similar problem on my portal. It's set to time out after X minutes. When the users try to save, it does the same thing...saves to a number.file file. Needless to say, the users are screaming!! Can I have the set autosave every 15 minutes or so.. maybe that will trick the portal into resetting the time out clock. Any other suggestions for this network nightmare???

  10. #10
    Board Regular Ragnar1211's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    571
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: EMERGENCY!! HELP!! Excel won't let me save my file!!!

    I used to have this problem, so I created a macro that would auto-save to my hard drive before it would try and connect to the network server.

    I beleive it was an event based macro, it was about 5 years ago... I'll see if I can dig it up!

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •