run-time error
Upcoming Power Excel Seminars
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: run-time error

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

     
    I have Win2K and office 2K. Whenever I start Excel 2000, and open up a file, I get a Microsoft Visual Basic error message box that says:
    "Run-time error '5': Invalid procedure call or argument"

    I get this error every single time I start Excel after having it closed. It then prompts me to either end or debug (debug is grayed out, it cannot be selected as an option), and after I click the end button, I can continue on without getting the error message again, until of course the next time I exit Excel, and then later start it again. This doesn't happen with any particular spreadsheet, in fact sometimes it will happen when I open up Excel and create a brand new worksheet with nothing in it. Anyone have any ideas as to what causes this? Any help is appreciated, thanks.

    Kevin

  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP Al Chara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Newark, Delaware
    Posts
    1,701
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sounds like you might have saved a macro to personal.xls See the instructions here to open personal.xls:
    http://www.mrexcel.com/board/viewtop...5215&forum=2&1
    Best regards,
    Allan Chara
    http://www.mrspreadsheets.com

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Al,
    personal.xls does not exist, any other ideas?

    thanks,

  4. #4
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Southfield,MI USA
    Posts
    2,305
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hey,

    Does this only happen with a file or 2 or all excel files (including new ones)? It certainly sounds like you have an unwanted macro (auto_open or the like). Open a blank file and if you get the error hit Alt+F8 and see if you have any macros you don't recognize.

    You might also want to scope out your XLSTART folder for unwanted files. BTW, when was the last time you ran an anti-virus scan?

    Hope that helps out somewhat,
    Adam

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    This is my computer at work. I run virus scan once a week, and all emails are scanned at the server for viruses before we receive them, so I don't think it's a virus. It happens all the time, even with a brand new blank file. There are some files in the xlstart folder, but they are files that are necessary in order for me to use some user-defined formulas that pull data from our billing system database.

    thanks,

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i was mistaken when i said that there are files in the xlstart folder. the folder is empty, the files i was thinking of are stored in another location.

    thanks,

  7. #7
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Southfield,MI USA
    Posts
    2,305
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hiya

    Have you recently added anything new in the Add-ins window or installed any other software recently that might be contributing to this problem?

    Adam

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    to my knowledge, no, nothing has been installed that would be doing this. i don't have access rights to install new programs on my workstation, and the administrator said that nothing new has been installed for several weeks now, but this problem began happening only about two week ago.

    thanks,
    kevin

  9. #9
    MrExcel MVP Ivan F Moala's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    4,209
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

      
    On 2002-04-15 14:02, evinkainnerska wrote:
    to my knowledge, no, nothing has been installed that would be doing this. i don't have access rights to install new programs on my workstation, and the administrator said that nothing new has been installed for several weeks now, but this problem began happening only about two week ago.

    thanks,
    kevin
    Keven...check if you have any addins installed
    Goto Tools > Addins
    Have a look, and deselect ALL addins.
    Kind Regards,
    Ivan F Moala From the City of Sails

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 

 
DMCA.com