Macro message
Manage your personal finances in Excel
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Macro message

  1. #1
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    306
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

     
    I have various workbooks that were built by somebody else. Everytime I open one of them, I am asked to enable or disable the macros. As far as I can tell though, there are no macros. I don't want to disable the message because I do actually want to know when a workbook contains macros before enabling them.

    The workbooks are relatively large, as workbooks go (6M each).

    How can I find out why this message box occurs?

    Thanks Adrae

  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP Al Chara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Newark, Delaware
    Posts
    1,701
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hit Alt+F11 to open VBA. Then look to the left for the project explorer and click around to see if there are any macros.

    If there aren't any then in the project explorer look for the folder that says "Modules" and double click it. Then right click on each subfile and select "Remove..." and hit "No" to not export. Then save and reopen and you should not get the enable macros box anymore.
    Best regards,
    Allan Chara
    http://www.mrspreadsheets.com

  3. #3
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,169
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi --

    try in VB editor clicking on the worksheets them self in case target entry has been added if not ment, very common will repoet as macro even thou not doing a thing.. check all sheets.


    Free Excel based Web Toolbar available here.

    Jack in the UK
    J & R Excel Solutions
    "making Excel work for you"

  4. #4
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    306
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Some sheet have the following:

    Option Explicit

    Is it alright to delete this?

    Thanks Adrae

  5. #5
    MrExcel MVP Mark O'Brien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Columbus, OH, USA
    Posts
    3,530
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If that is the only line of code on the sheets then, yes. If those are the only lines of code it should also get rid of the macro warning message.

    Actually, if that wasn't the only line of code you could delete this anyway. It's only used to make sure programmer's declare all of their variables. But that's beside the point.

    _________________
    [b] Mark O'Brien

    [ This Message was edited by: Mark O'Brien on 2002-04-16 12:21 ]

  6. #6
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,169
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

      
    Yes delete all the data.. you clearly say NO MACROS delete the, BUT check ALL sheets..

    then save and close

    re open no warning as no macros should be the result...
    Free Excel based Web Toolbar available here.

    Jack in the UK
    J & R Excel Solutions
    "making Excel work for you"

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 

 
DMCA.com