Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Non-printing cell border...why?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I have a big spreadsheet. All cells have borders, that is, each looks like a box with four black lines around it. EXCEPT, one horizontal line doesn't print....even though it shows on the screen. Anyone have an idea why? No matter what I do, it won't print!

    THANKS

  2. #2
    Board Regular zacemmel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Redmond, WA
    Posts
    636
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Try a different printer driver.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Can't do that....I'm in a HUGE company and we are not allowed to do that! Not only that, all the other borders, all 2,000, print okay! Just this one row. How could that be a printer driver anyhow? I must have done something to that row, but when I try to delete it and then add back the data, the non-printing border is still there. Any other ideas?

  4. #4
    Board Regular zacemmel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Redmond, WA
    Posts
    636
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    What does it look like in print preview?

  5. #5
    Board Regular Barry Katcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Dog Beach, Florida. Yeaahh!
    Posts
    4,053
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Does the cell without the border contain an entry nearly as wide as the cell? If so, try making the column a bit wider.

    Oops, I just noticed you said "horizontal" line.
    _________________
    ...and I always put the seat down.

    [ This Message was edited by: Barry Katcher on 2002-05-10 12:38 ]

  6. #6
    Legend NateO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Minneapolis, Mn, USA
    Posts
    9,700
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Can't do that....I'm in a HUGE company and we are not allowed to do that!
    Where's your entrepreneurial spirit?

    I also work at a relatively large operation, and here's how it works with Windows 2000 here. You can change your printer, but the address won't change. So, if one has 10 different printers in their control pannel, you can change your default, and it will always print to the same printer.

    But, if you're printing to an HP 8500, you don't want HP IIIsi selected, it'll go to the right destination, but the pixel allotment is drastically reduced. Right click on your printer, select properties, advanced, and make sure your print quality is maximized.

    _________________
    Cheers, NateO

    [ This Message was edited by: NateO on 2002-05-10 12:46 ]

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Okay, okay, okay, Nate! But I still don't see what that's got to do with one horizontal line. And to prove the point, I just printed it on another printer (from our shared folder), and the problem is still there. Wah! I figure that when I was setting up the data and doing the input, I did something to that particular line. But what's buggy is that EVERYTHING else is okidoke. Not only that, when I copy the rows to another spreadsheet and print, the borders show, so somehow its in some instruction about whatever prints on that row. Very weird! Does anyone have a clue???

  8. #8
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA USA
    Posts
    327
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi Joan,

    Is the the cell in question above a page break ?

    James

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The row in question isn't near a page break at all. (Darn....anything deadend!)

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    26
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I imagine you've tried this already, but check the cell borders (from Format/Cells../Border) from both sides. i.e., select the row below the missing line and make sure it has a top border, then select the row above it and make sure it has a bottom border. Sometimes a missing border on one side will "overrule" borders assigned to the other.

    Also, double-check the color of the border -- make sure it's Automatic or Black. Don't know how it would get changed by accident, but, y'know, when you've tried everything else....


    Catherine

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •