VBA Code to Clear/Blank Value in a Cell with Formula in Another Cell

wcm69

Board Regular
I’m hoping someone can help me with what I hope is a simple VBA code to clear/blank the contents of a cell if the input from a (“Yes “or “No”) drop down list = “No”.

I have an Excel Table with (“Yes” or “No”) drop down lists in Cell Ranges J2:J50. I have a pop up calendar (to enter the desired dates) in Cell Ranges K2:K50. I would like if the dates entered into Cells K2:K50 are automatically cleared or blanked when the drop down lists (in Cells J2:J50) option “No” is chosen.

I’ve tried various Nested If() statements in the validation Box and directly in the cell in the worksheet with No success. Finally after some investigation it appears you cannot delete a value in a cell with a formula in another cell.

It seems the answer lies in VBA. Unfortunately I have little knowledge of coding, so I’m hoping someone can provide the necessary directions and codes that I can copy and paste directly into my worksheet/module.

My thanks in advance for any help. :)

Excel Facts

Best way to learn Power Query?
Read M is for (Data) Monkey book by Ken Puls and Miguel Escobar. It is the complete guide to Power Query.
Try this:

This is an auto sheet event script
Your Workbook must be Macro enabled
To install this code:
Right-click on the sheet tab
Select View Code from the pop-up context menu
Paste the code in the VBA edit window

Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
If Not Intersect(Target, Range("J2:J50")) Is Nothing Then
If Target.Cells.Count > 1 Or IsEmpty(Target) Then Exit Sub
If Target.Value = "No" Then Target.Offset(0, 1).Value = ""
End If
End Sub

Upvote 0
Many thanks for the code.

But it comes back with a compile error - 'Ambiguous name detected: Worksheet_Change' when I Debug before I run it.

I followed your instructions and pasted it into the worksheet. Any idea where I'm going wrong?

Your help and patience is greatly appreciated. :)

Upvote 0
Hooray!