active cell

charly1

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
hi all

I am relatively new to excel, so my question may indeed be a simple one.

I would like to write a "xlookup formula" in which the "lookup value" is constantly updated to refer to the "activecell". Is this possible without using vba and without having to double click the active cell to update the reference in the cell containing the xlookup formula?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Excel Facts

Links? Where??
If Excel says you have links but you can't find them, go to Formulas, Name Manager. Look for old links to dead workbooks & delete.
No it's not possible without VBA.

Upvote 0
Ok.

So would it be to much to ask for someone out there to post the necessary vba code that I need.

I would like to insert the xlookup code into cell "A1" of sheet1, the lookup value would always be the active cell. The lookup array should refer to a Table column on that same sheet 1 and the return array should be 2 side by side columns in a separate table in sheet 2.

Thanks ever so much for any help in advance.

Upvote 0
sorry, if may just add one final point to my q. I would like the vba to only run the xlookup when the active cell happens to be a cell in a specific column of an excel table.

Upvote 0
It is hard to tailor VBA to work on your specific situation without detailed information.
Please show us some sample data and your expected results.

MrExcel has a tool called “XL2BB” that lets you post samples of your data that will allow us to copy/paste it to our Excel spreadsheets, so we can work with the same copy of data that you are. Instructions on using this tool can be found here: XL2BB Add-in

Note that there is also a "Test Here” forum on this board. This is a place where you can test using this tool (or any other posting techniques that you want to test) before trying to use those tools in your actual posts.

Upvote 0