All possible combinations with repeats allowed

Gadgetguy

Hello Everybody,
I'm looking for a way to have excel display (make a list) of all possible 9 digits/spaces combinations using three letters: CMU, where the letters can be repeated.
I searched this forum and the internet. I've google it different ways and I still haven't figure out the answer. I'm not an expert in excel but I know the basics, and with instructions from someone else I can work my way around it. I don't know how many combinations there will be or if is even possible to do. I'll give an example of what I am looking for. I want excel to list all possible combinations like this:

CCCCCCCCC
MMMMMMMMM
UUUUUUUUU
CMMMMMMMM
UMMMMMMMM
MMUUUUUUU
etc....

All the threads I've found talked about combinations and permutations but none fit or give enough information on how to do something like the example above. Can someone please help me? Any help will be highly appreciated. :)

Excel Facts

Why does 9 mean SUM in SUBTOTAL?
It is because Sum is the 9th alphabetically in Average, Count, CountA, Max, Min, Product, StDev.S, StDev.P, Sum, VAR.S, VAR.P.
Happy with a macro?
Just run it and see if it's like what you want.
Code:
Sub allup()
Dim a, n As Integer, c(), k As Long
Dim u1 As Integer, u2 As Integer, u3 As Integer
Dim u4 As Integer, u5 As Integer, u6 As Integer
Dim u7 As Integer, u8 As Integer, u9 As Integer
a = Array("C", "M", "U")
n = UBound(a) + 1
ReDim c(1 To Rows.Count, 1 To 9)
For u1 = 1 To n
For u2 = 1 To n
For u3 = 1 To n
For u4 = 1 To n
For u5 = 1 To n
For u6 = 1 To n
For u7 = 1 To n
For u8 = 1 To n
For u9 = 1 To n
    k = k + 1
c(k, 9) = a(u9 - 1)
c(k, 8) = a(u8 - 1)
c(k, 7) = a(u7 - 1)
c(k, 6) = a(u6 - 1)
c(k, 5) = a(u5 - 1)
c(k, 4) = a(u4 - 1)
c(k, 3) = a(u3 - 1)
c(k, 2) = a(u2 - 1)
c(k, 1) = a(u1 - 1)
Next u9, u8, u7, u6, u5, u4, u3, u2, u1
Cells(1).Resize(k, 9) = c
End Sub

Upvote 0