Allocating sequential number to non-sequential cells, in non-sequential order

LotsOfQuestions88

Hi! I'm quite new to excel and looking for some help with a problem - thanks in advance for any help.

I need a good way / formula to allocate a sequential number, but in non-sequential cells and that will not change the value of previously allocated numbers? The resulting allocation column would likely not be in number order.

Eg if person in L2 'confirms', then they would be allocated number '1' (in cell X2)
If person in L3 'confirms', they get '2' (in cell X3)
Personin L4 has not 'confirmed' yet ie 'pending' - no number given (yet) (cell X4 blank)
Person in L5 'confirms', they get number '3' (incell X5)
Then, person in L4 later confirms and gets number'4' (rather than getting '3' and changing the person inL5's number to '4')

Hope that makes sense? I've got a way of doing it currently, which just involves giving a 'wait' message in the cell to, in this case, cells X4:X5 until person in L4 has 'confirmed'and then numbers are allocated, but it means lots of people could be waiting for numbers, pending one person confirming, which is not ideal.

The current formula is: (options in L2 are "Yes" (ie 'confirms'), "Refused" or "Unsure"

=IF(AND(OR(L2="Yes",L2="Unsure"),W2<(G$6+2)),(IF(AND((COUNTA(L$2:L2)=(ROW(L2)-1)),(NOT(L$2:L2="Unsure"))),("C "&((COUNTIF(L$2:L2,"Yes"))+$G$9)),"Wait..")),IF(L2="Unsure"," Check..",""))

I think the last value if false section is negated by the use of the OR function in the first part, but I've left it in for now.

Many thanks again for any help!

Excel Facts

Excel motto
Not everything I do at work revolves around Excel. Only the fun parts.
This would be much easier to accomplish as a macro. If you have never used a macro here are the steps to do it:

1. Enable the developer tab in your ribbon (if you haven't already) - File-> Options->Customize Ribbon-> Check the Developer box in the right menu