Anyone else think Excel 2007 is rubbish?

Rant alert!

OK, so I've been using Excel 2007 for a few months, and I've reserved judgement until I've got used to where everything is, and how it works.

Well, I've got used to how everything works, and I've come to my conclusion. Excel 2007 is a pile of unnecessary, pointless, unmitigated c**p.

Why do I think this? Well, basically my usage of it has been a litany of swearwords and "Oh, god, I'd have thought they would have fixed that for this version". I think that all the changes that have been made have either been made for entirely superficial reasons, change where change really wasn't necessary.

I'll give you one key example, for fear of boring you all any more than necessary...

The ribbon, the basic toolkit for communicating with Excel, is pathetic, and the lack of an option to switch back is dreadful. I'm not saying that because I fear change, I've been using it for a while now, and I think it's simply ill thought out and confusing. It's much easier to find what you are looking for in a branch of drop-down menus where all the names are in a vertical row and are the same size. Trying to find an icon amongst a very, very loosely collected 'tab' of other, differently sized and differently oriented icons is like trying to find a needle in a stack of hay, straw, peanuts, baseballs, protozoa, laser pointers and copies of Harry Potter: The Half Blood Prince.

And what have they named these supposedly useful tabs? Well, say you stick in a chart, the context-sensitive tabs 'design', 'format' and 'layout' all appear. Well, they're distinctly different from one-another, aren't they????

Go on, stick 'format' in MS Word's thesaurus. Guess what other two synonyms appear...