Autocalculate and forced calc do not work in Excel 2003

Skychick

I am a systems analyst and one of my users has a random problem with spreadsheets where she enters a formula and it does not calculate. She is using Excel 2003. Here are the things I have already checked out:

Autocalculate IS turned on
The numbers ARE really numbers and not text
Editing the numbers and formulas and re-entering them did not help
The formulas are entered correctly and are simple such as sum and multiplication
There are no other workbooks or spreasheets open
Hand entered numbers into different cells with the same result
Tried copying and doing a paste special as values with same result
Tried forcing a calc with F9 with no results
The bottom of the screen says calculate so it knows that it needs to calculate, just won't do it.
Very small spreadsheet so no maximum number of formulas hit
Network support re-loaded Excel onto the machine twice already
Saving the spreadsheet and re-opening it usually solves the problem.
When spreasheet is sent to someone else, it opens fine with calculations completed.

If anyone knows of a hotfix that might exist for this issue or what could be causing it please let me know. Thanks

Excel Facts

Round to nearest half hour?
Use =MROUND(A2,"0:30") to round to nearest half hour. Use =CEILING(A2,"0:30") to round to next half hour.
HI,

Couple of things from memory for 2003...

Change the cell format to General, F2, delete formula then reenter it, not through copy & paste

Excel Preferences>>View>>uncheck view formulas in window options

Any VBA??

Are they standard formula or UDFs??

Chers,
Ian

Upvote 0
Thanks Ian

The format was set to numeric. I will have to wait for the user to generate another bad spreadsheet for me to try changing the format to general (and see what happens) as I am unable to recreate her issue on my computer.

I did try manually typing in the formulas from scratch (not cut and paste) even in different cells to no avail.