Best way to learn VBA for Excel?

abrown

Board Regular
I am a newbie to VBA? I have muddled thru it this far but want to learn it. What is the best way? A class, a book, a DVD, Private lessons?

I feel tangled b/c I know everything I want to do is possible I just don't have the means right now to do it!

Thanks-

Excel Facts

Remove leading & trailing spaces
Save as CSV to remove all leading and trailing spaces. It is faster than using TRIM().
Hi,

For me, it was a book - John Walkenbach's "Excel 2000 Power Programming with VBA".

I'd suggest a book is best. Read & re-read the book typing in lots of examples as you go.

I found it all seemed straightforward enough until it came time to write my own code ... It takes a little time to become familiar with the syntax and objects. It can be frustrating but if you're keen you'll push past that and with time will be OK. Always keep learning from other books and sites like this. Google can reveal a whole world of fabulous on line resources. Microsoft have some great on line information and Excel VBA's built-in help is good. You can buy secondhand books for a couple of dollars too, BTW.

If you have specific questions right now to do some things, you can ask on the forum.

Keep learning. Regards, Fazza

Upvote 0
As Fazza said, parctice makes perfect.

With that in mind, you will learn fastest if you try a project that matters to you. That way, you'll stick with it and pick up what you need to know along the way, using all the resource types mentioned above.

Denis

Upvote 0
What is the best way? A class, a book, a DVD, Private lessons?
That really depends on you more than anything else. Some people are very visual learners, so classes work better than books for them. Some people have no problems learning straight from books.