Calculating Age Help

DanielS95

Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
I work in the education sector, so I often need to calculate someones age at a specific point in time. I usually use the following formula; =INT(YEARFRAC(A2,DATE(YYYY,MM,DD)))

I have recently found an issue where someone who had a DOB of 01/09/2002 was returning as aged 18 on 31/08/2020, when in fact he is 17 - 1 day short of 18. In my job, that 1 day is vital and I have to show him as 17, not 18. Does anyone know of a way I can fix this formula or can suggest a different one entirely?

Excel Facts

Can a formula spear through sheets?
Use =SUM(January:December!E7) to sum E7 on all of the sheets from January through December
=DATEDIF(Cell with DoB,cell with date you want to know age at,"y")
=DATEDIF(B1,C1,"y")
B1 = DoB
C2 = date required age

Upvote 0
I work in the education sector, so I often need to calculate someones age at a specific point in time. I usually use the following formula; =INT(YEARFRAC(A2,DATE(YYYY,MM,DD)))

I have recently found an issue where someone who had a DOB of 01/09/2002 was returning as aged 18 on 31/08/2020, when in fact he is 17 - 1 day short of 18. In my job, that 1 day is vital and I have to show him as 17, not 18. Does anyone know of a way I can fix this formula or can suggest a different one entirely?

Daniel, no matter what I tried I get 18. I think the problem is you have entered the 2 dates in different formats. Depending on where you are, I'll bet you just need to switch the month and day on 1 of the dates. If in the US, your Current Date should be entered as 08/31/2020 to match the way the birth date is entered.

Upvote 0
Hello!
etaf, ?.
Daniel, e.g. DATEDIF(A1, Today(), "y")

Upvote 0

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member
Motoracer88

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.