Calculating % of Change Across Multiple Years, with Occasiona 0 Values

MrGilder

Hello everyone,
I'm a bit of a novice at this, so hopefully someone will be able to help me.

I am working on a project wherein in must track the percentage of growth across the lifespan of items in 1 year, 3 year, and full lifetime spans.

The sales figures for the item are arranged in order down a single column (I'll say E, in this example). Although the items vary in lifespan and sales data, I'll use an item with a 5 year history for this example. In such a scenario the sales numbers are arranged in E2 - E7 (E2 being the oldest year on record, E7 being most recent). Here is a screenshot:

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

To calculate the percentage change between the two most recent years of sales history, I am using the following formula:

=((E7-E6)/E6)

In order to expand that % across three years, I average the change:

=(((E5-E4)/E4)+((E6-E5)/E5)+((E7-E6)/E6))/3

For the full lifespan, I continue that average to cover the change between each year of the item’s history. For a 5 year lifespan, the formula would look like so:

=(((E3-E2)/E2)+((E4-E3)/E3)+((E5-E4)/4)+((E6-E5)/E5))/4

Where I am running into a problem is when an item has 0 sales for a single period. In going from a year of sales to a year of no sales, it will show an appropriate loss of -100%, however, going from 0 to a year of sales divides by zero and gives me a #DIV/0! Error.

For a single year, I’ve come across an acceptable solutions in using “if” statements. In the below example, assume E6=0:

=if(iserror((E7-E6)/E6),1,((E7-E6)/E6)

This treats the 0 value in such as way at to yield a %100 increase when a number jumps from 0 to any sales number.