Can a macro help create a user hierarchy?

sinkrswim

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to VBA, so really hoping you guys can help with this. I have a very painful that I need to do every week and I am trying to automate it to some extent to try and save some time (and my sanity!).

I get a file from HR with the email address, name, title, and email+name of the manager and second-level manager info of every employee, plus a few other columns with demographics. I have to use this data to create an organizational hierarchy in a slightly different format, so the manual steps go something like this:
EmailDisplay nameJob titleReports toManager's emailSecond level manager
1. Filter the Job title column to find all VPs and copy and paste the list into a new sheet.
2. Filter the 2nd-level manager column using the list of VPs (one by one), and copy+paste the employees who report up to the VP into the new format, which looks like this:
AGENT_IDAGENT_NAMESUPERVISOR_IDSUPERVISOR_NAMEMANAGER_IDMANAGER_NAMEDIRECTOR_IDDIRECTOR_NAMEVP_IDVP_NAME
3. Repeat the process for Directors, Managers, Supervisors, Team Leads, etc. until each employee is accounted for.

I don't know if a macro is even possible or useful for something like this, but crossing my fingers that there's someone out there who enjoys puzzles and has time to kill 😀🤞

Excel Facts

Square and cube roots
The =SQRT(25) is a square root. For a cube root, use =125^(1/3). For a fourth root, use =625^(1/4).
Could you provide a sample of the data along with the expected results?
You can share your data by using the XL2BB tool or by uploading a sample workbook (without any sensitive information) to a file-sharing site such as Dropbox.com or Google Drive. Please share the link here and ensure that it is accessible to anyone. If your data is sensitive, consider creating some dummy data instead.

Upvote 0
Could you provide a sample of the data along with the expected results?