Career in BI.. Whats next for the resume?

mwaltercpa

looking for some advice.. im a CPA that has made a career in Excel.. now that im hooked on PowerPivot and DAX,id like to move further from Acct and closer to a career in BI. i habe lots of Excel (heavy logical formulas and pivot), navigate well in PP (pivot, maps)... whats the next skill to add to the resume? i see lots of BI people habe MS SQL??. thanks and Merry Christmas!!

Excel Facts

Difference between two dates
Secret function! Use =DATEDIF(A2,B2,"Y")&" years"&=DATEDIF(A2,B2,"YM")&" months"&=DATEDIF(A2,B2,"MD")&" days"
i would say you need to get some of the other BI tools - if you want to move into BI
perhaps also in excel make a few dashboards
then
Sql would be useful
Access can be an easy starting point - so you can understand databases and the relationships
business objects
if you want to stay within the finance field - then cognos

have a look at a few job adverts for roles in your local area (or where you are prepared to travel) and see what type of roles are being advertised and the requirements for those roles

Upvote 0
Answer every question in this forum. That would save me a lot of time ;)

So, obviously I'm a huge believer in the msft bi stack. I believe Power Pivot is amazeballs (and really power query is super awesome too). Msft is clearly continuing to invest here, so that's ... good. On the other hand, the marketing and general awareness of these technologies has been pure crap. People don't know Power Pivot exists. When you show them it... it blows their minds. We can only help with that... some.

I would be tempted to hold off briefly and see where the next version of Office goes. 2013 was a total mess for Power Pivot. A complete disaster really. If they screw up the next version, you can have my BI career ;)