cell reference as part of a workbook name

keeponlearning

Hi guys

I'm a newbie but your forum has given me a lot of great resolutions. But I'm stuck and can't find anything that address my problem.

First, macros and vba are not allowed in my office.

I will use an example to describe the issue but a can't use the actual workbooks due to confidentiality reasons.

In my example I have 2 workbooks; each containing all 12 periods of financial data. The 2 workbooks are for 2 separate companies with different fiscal years ends. Let's say Co A has a fiscal Y/E of Aug 2015 (Sep 2014-Aug 2015) so the workbook is named "CoA 2015" and Co B has a fiscal Y/E of Feb 2016 (Mar 2015 - Feb 2016) so the workbook is named "CoB 2016".

I want to create another workbook to consolidate the data in the other 2 workbooks for each calendar month. For example, June 2015. But this month falls in Co A fiscal 2015 and Co B fiscal 2016. I have a workbook now but it hard codes the fiscal year in my formula. The formula would look something like {=SUM(IF(A1='CoA 2015.xlsx'!glacct,'CoA 2015.xlsx'!per_01,0))} in one column and {=SUM(IF(A1='CoB 2016.xlsx'!glacct,'CoB 2016.xlsx'!per_01,0))}. Please note that I had to use an array formula because sumifs give me a #REF error whenever I close any of the workbooks and "glacct" and "per_01" are range names

What I would like to do is to replace the year in the formula with a cell reference; that is instead of "A1='CoA 2015.xlsx!glacct" my formula would look like "A1='CoA [cell ref].xlsx!glacct". This way I can use it for future years without having to change references in the actual formula. This will also make it easier for anyone else using the workbook.

And sorry but I want to remind you that macros and vba are not allowed due to IT security reasons.

Thank you very much in advance.

Excel Facts

Can a formula spear through sheets?
Use =SUM(January:December!E7) to sum E7 on all of the sheets from January through December