Check if one cell contains partial text from another cell and return 'Yes' or No'

Frank_Kruyer

Hi,

This is my first time posting. I am not an Excel expert but feel like the answer to my question will be solved by an array formula, an area which I need to improve!

Anyway here goes...

I have a list in Sheet 1, Column A, of cells containing text:

<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="209"><colgroup><col style="mso-width-source:userset;mso-width-alt:7643;width:157pt" width="209"> </colgroup><tbody><tr style="height:12.75pt" height="17"> <td style="height:12.75pt;width:157pt" height="17" width="209">Text 1</td> </tr> <tr style="height:12.75pt" height="17"> <td style="height:12.75pt" height="17">Text 2</td> </tr> <tr style="height:12.75pt" height="17"> <td style="height:12.75pt" height="17">Text 3</td> </tr> <tr style="height:12.75pt" height="17"> <td style="height:12.75pt" height="17">Text 4</td> </tr> <tr style="height:12.75pt" height="17"> <td style="height:12.75pt" height="17">Text 5</td> </tr> <tr style="height:12.75pt" height="17"> <td style="height:12.75pt" height="17">Text 6</td> </tr> <tr style="height:12.75pt" height="17"> <td style="height:12.75pt" height="17">Text 7</td> </tr> <tr style="height:12.75pt" height="17"> <td style="height:12.75pt" height="17">Text 8</td> </tr> <tr style="height:12.75pt" height="17"> <td style="height:12.75pt" height="17">Text 9</td> </tr> </tbody></table>
On Sheet 2, I have another list containg text, obtained from an external data source. However due to the format of the source all text is in Upper case and void of punctuation. For example if Sheet 1 contains a cell with the text 'Don't Go', in Sheet 2 it will appear 'DON T GO'.

In another column on Sheet 1 I have been using a simple vlookup with an if and iserr statement to return a value of either 'Y' or 'N'. So basically I am checking to see if the title from Sheet 1, appears in Sheet 2:

=IF(ISERROR(VLOOKUP(A5,Sheet 2!$B$2:$G$12,1,0)),"N","Y")