Coding for testing data and setting focus back to the incorrect value field

Pumpk1n

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I am relatively new to access forms and have a question. I have a bound subform which I would like to have data edits and bring the focus back to the incorrect field.. As an example, if I leave the award field as '0', the error message displays "Must enter award amount". When I click "OK", I want to bring the user back to the award field on the form. Right now after I click OK - it flows through to "ready to save this record? Yes/No".

Private Sub Command17_Click()
Dim strLocation As String
Me.Modified_by = Environ("USERNAME")
Me.Modified_on = Format(Now(), "yyyy-MM-dd hh:mm:ss")
Me.AwardType = "Sales - Top Award"

If [Award] = 0 Then MsgBox ("Must enter award amount.") ' when there is an error, how to set focus back in the form to this field after they click ok?
If [Year_Earned] = 0 Then MsgBox ("Must enter year.") Else ' same -- how to set focus back to year-earned after they click ok?
Const cstrprompt As String = "Ready to save this record? Yes/No" ' if they select no, then I want to stay on the form and set focus on a specific field?"
If MsgBox(cstrprompt, vbQuestion + vbYesNo) = vbNo Then
Cancel = False
End If
DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdSaveRecord
DoCmd.Close
DoCmd.OpenForm FormName:="frm_advisorhomepage"
exit_cmdcommand17_click:
Exit Sub
End Sub

Excel Facts

Using Function Arguments with nested formulas
If writing INDEX in Func. Arguments, type MATCH(. Use the mouse to click inside MATCH in the formula bar. Dialog switches to MATCH.
You could add multiple If's, and tell it to exit per line or you could have a look at this example Checking all textbox controls on userform for null value