Comparing 2 Lists And Extracting Unique Results

muchobrento

Hi all

On a pretty regular basis I run into this problem, so I finally thought I'd see if the community can help me solve it.

I'd like to take 2 separate lists and be able to extract a 3rd list of all entries not present in both lists. For example:

• List A has 2,500 entries
  • List B has 2,700 entries (but I have no idea which entries are unique to List B)
  • List C (the result of our operation) has 200 extracted entries that are not present in both lists

As a side note, I have no idea how to write VBA script, or how to even use it. But, if the solution requires me to use a VBA script, I'll do my best to learn what I need to. But, please try to keep the instructions at their most basic level, since I'm a noob.

Thanks so much in advance!

MuchoBrento

Excel Facts

Did you know Excel offers Filter by Selection?
Add the AutoFilter icon to the Quick Access Toolbar. Select a cell containing Apple, click AutoFilter, and you will get all rows with Apple
Hi MuchoBrento,

This macro will do the job:

Code:
Option Explicit
Sub Macro1()

Dim rngCell As Range
    Dim rngRange1 As Range
    Dim rngRange2 As Range

Set rngRange1 = Range("A2:A" & Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Row) 'Sets the first list from Row 2 in Col. A to the last Row in Col. A. Change to suit.
    Set rngRange2 = Range("B2:B" & Range("B" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Row) 'Sets the second list from Row 2 in Col. B to the last Row in Col. B. Change to suit.

Application.ScreenUpdating = False 'Turn screen updating off

For Each rngCell In rngRange1 'Loop through first range putting each no match to the second range to Col. C. Change to suit.
        If Evaluate("COUNTIF(" & rngRange2.Address & "," & rngCell.Address & ")") = 0 Then
            Range("C" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Offset(1, 0).Value = rngCell.Value
        End If
    Next rngCell