Connect MIDI piano to Excel

RishiA

Hi all,

This is my first post.

I want to be able to play a single note on my piano and have Excel play it and show me which note I'm playing in real-time (e.g. a C or G etc).

As I see it, this would require the following steps:
1. Have Excel recognize my piano MIDI signals
2. Store the MIDI info sent from the piano in Excel
3. Convert this info to sound and text (i.e. the note to be displayed)
4. Display the note in a cell on the spreadsheet

I'm hoping that this can be done, but have no clue as to how. Also; I have no experience with VBA or MIDI processing, but some experience with programming. If you post any code, would you mind making your explanation noob-friendly?

Thanks,
Rishi

Excel Facts

How to change case of text in Excel?
Use =UPPER() for upper case, =LOWER() for lower case, and =PROPER() for proper case. PROPER won't capitalize second c in Mccartney
This might be a place to start.

Record audio and video notes - OneNote - Office.com

I once created a slot machine in Excel and when ever a jack pot was won there were some flashing cells and a audio I recorded of coins falling into the slot machine tray.

I used a plug in mike and recorded me pouring a large amount of loose change into a coffee can. That was stored in a sound-wave thing (not sure that is the correct name) and it had an icon like do-dad with a likeness of a speaker in it. This icon was numbered or named similar as a shape may be and you could call with code.

If you want Excel to "hear" your note and then recall the proper sound-wave to match with C or G and then display a C or G, I don't know if that can be done.

I believe I was using Excel 2003 at the time, the version that had the world mapping feature. Long gone now. So, if you have 2010 or 2013 who knows.

Regards,
Howard

Upvote 0
Thanks for the replies.

AhoyNC: I actaully have Musescore, but this is something I would like te have in Excel.

L. Howard:

Upvote 0
Thanks for the replies.