Convert Macro's to Javascripts?

R1chard

Active Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2004
Messages
404
My spreadsheet contains a whole load of Macro's.

Is there a piece of software which would convert these macro's into Javascript if i was to upload my spreadsheet as a website? Or does anyone know a way in which i could upload my spreadsheet as a website and for it to still to function correctly?
 

Excel Facts

Why does 9 mean SUM in SUBTOTAL?
It is because Sum is the 9th alphabetically in Average, Count, CountA, Max, Min, Product, StDev.S, StDev.P, Sum, VAR.S, VAR.P.

santeria

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
1,844
Do you want this done by yourself, or have a third party do the conversion?
There are a number of options.


(y)
 

R1chard

Active Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2004
Messages
404
I have'nt got a clue about javascripts, so i wouldnt be able to do it by myself. I just want to know the best way i can have my spreadsheet up and running as a website like it is, as an excel spreadsheet. I need something that will recognise my Macro's in order for them to work as a website!

Do you know what i mean? I don't :confused:
 

santeria

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
1,844
Are you running your own website?
Or is this a site where the root directory is controlled by someone else?

Can you provide details on how your content gets to the web site... wether run by you, or by a third party provider.

(y)
 

santeria

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
1,844

ADVERTISEMENT

Actually, whilst I would suggest a conversion service... check out these people if money may be an issue :

http://www.gohtm.com/

They seem pretty neat.

(y)
 

R1chard

Active Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2004
Messages
404
the site you gave me looked good, but as my spreadsheet is 558KB they wont accept it! so i'm stuck
 

R1chard

Active Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2004
Messages
404

ADVERTISEMENT

and i am wanting to running my own website its not a site where the root directory is controlled by someone else.

I have no website at the moment jsut a really good spreadsheet which i wish to make into a website but as i don't know HTML or Java i just wanted to use the spreadsheet!
 

santeria

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
1,844
If you get an editor like, for example, FRONT PAGE, you don't need to know html, just how to edit, and do presentation.

Or... if you have the content, but don't want to edit, there are lots of places that will do sites for you.

As for the size of the file you have, no biggie... but it's amazing what you can do with small files and the presentation is worked out right.

I did not realise that site had a size minimum, I thought they did any file size ( Could always stick in a graphic if it needs to be larger...) or is the problem that it's too large ??

(y)
 

R1chard

Active Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2004
Messages
404
It's because my spreadsheet is too large. The maximum size you can send them is 500KB

Anyway, I have front page which converts it to HTML fine its just the fact that if i upload it to my webspace the macro's would no longer work because it's in HTML format.

That was what i was trying to get around.

All sheets are linked in one way or another but will they stay linked and will macro's work from once open in Front Page?
 

santeria

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
1,844
I guess the key question is, do you want the html version of your page to work as if it is a working excel sheet, or do you want to give a demo of what it does?
Is the macro worth something to you or do you want the page to show what is being done, without revealing how it is being done ?


(y)
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,130,448
Messages
5,642,218
Members
417,262
Latest member
andrewd1

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top