convert numbers in a table to hyperlinks to other workbooks

turkishjim

I'm a total beginner to VBA but fairly comfortable with Excel. I have a worksheet listing my customers' details in columns A to D (one customer per row, sorted alphabetically), then in column E onwards I have the invoice numbers of their previous orders: some only 1 column but a few with more than 10 orders. The invoices are Excel workbooks all stored in the same folder on my PC.
What I would like to do is simplify the task of referring to previous orders by making each cell in columns E onwards into a hyperlink to the actual invoice. The path would be "file:///D:\Business\Accounts\.....\InvoiceXXXX.xlsx" where XXXX is the invoice number which currently populates the cell. I am happy to create the hyperlinks as I add new data to the worksheet but am looking for an easy (lazy) way to convert my existing data to hyperlinks as a one-off exercise, leaving blank cells blank.
I don't think this is possible using formulas (but I could be wrong) but wondered if it is possible using VBA.
Any assistance would be welcome.

Excel Facts

Excel Wisdom
Using a mouse in Excel is the work equivalent of wearing a lanyard when you first get to college
try this code (untested)
VBA Code:
Sub test()
lastrow = Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row
  For i = 2 To lastrow ' I have assumed a row for headers
  lastcol = lastcol = Cells(i, Columns.Count).End(xlToLeft).Column

For j = 5 To lastcol
               XXXX = Cells(i, j)
              if XXXX <> "" then              
                        '   now add links
              With ActiveSheet
              .Hyperlinks.Add Anchor:=.Range(Cells(i, j), Cells(i, j)), _
                                Address:="file:///D:\Business\Accounts\.....\Invoice" & XXXX & ".XLSX", _
                                TextToDisplay:=XXXX
              End With
              end if
              Next j
   Next i

End Sub

Upvote 0