Convert offset in formula into index

Damon123

Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi,

Excel beginner here, I have this formula here:

SUMPRODUCT(SUBTOTAL(103,OFFSET(D16:D55,ROW(D16:D55)-MIN(ROW(D16:D55)),,1))*(--(LEN(D16:D55)>0)))

which counts non empty cells in the column D16 to D55 with filtering. However, OFFSET is a volatile function, how do I convert the formula to use INDEX or any other non volatile functions instead?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Excel Facts

How to create a cell-sized chart?
Tiny charts, called Sparklines, were added to Excel 2010. Look for Sparklines on the Insert tab.
What you think about this:
Excel Formula:
=SUBTOTAL(103,D16:$D$55)

Upvote 0
What you think about this:
Excel Formula:
=SUBTOTAL(103,D16:$D$55)
Hi Maabadi,

Thanks for the reply, but I have no idea how to adapt it to another column in my worksheet. That column, column L contains positive, negative and 0 values, so when I want to count only the positive values with filtering, I will use this formula:

Excel Formula:
SUMPRODUCT(SUBTOTAL(103,OFFSET(L16:L63,ROW(L16:L63)-MIN(ROW(L16:L63)),,1))*(L16:L63>0))

so basically, other than counting the positive values only, I also count the negative values (changing to (L16:L63<0)), and the sum of the positive and negative values (changing to 109).

How do I convert the the formula so I don't use the volatile OFFSET function and instead use other non volatile functions like INDEX, or into another formula altogether that is simpler and non volatile and with filtering?

Upvote 0
Not sure there is a non volatile formula for what you want, unless you know what the filter criteria are.

Upvote 0
Not sure there is a non volatile formula for what you want, unless you know what the filter criteria are.
Hi Fluff,