copy table column x times

ksleep10

I thought this: =IF(COLUMN(C$4:C14)<($J$2+2),C$4:C14 ,"") would work, but it doesn't seem to. Let me explain what I am trying to do: $J$2 is the number of participants and is a number the user will enter. Table Column C is data for participant 1 with all the drop down lists and everything set up exactly the way I want it.

If the user enters a value of 2 for participants, then I will need Column c with all formulas copied to column D (participant 2) and so on. If there are 20 participants, there should be a column for participant 20 as part of the table. Do I need to use a macro for this? I've never done that before.

Excel Facts

Show numbers in thousands?
Use a custom number format of #,##0,K. Each comma after the final 0 will divide the displayed number by another thousand
You are not clear on what your original formula is supposed to do, or where this formula will be used. Your original formula doesn't really make sense - why would you compare a user input to the column of a range that always returns the same number (3)? It seems pointless.

See how this works for you:

=OFFSET(C$4:C14, 0, $J$2)

Upvote 0
I realize that I can select the table column C (participants 1), drag it one column to the right, and I will have a participants 2 column in column D with all my formulas adjusted with the proper cell references and the table will be one column larger. But what if I need 300 columns? Can I take the value in $J$2, and extend the fill series by that number of columns without clicking and dragging?

Upvote 0
Can you show an example / mock-up of what your sheet looks like?

Upvote 0