Count days between aircraft type landings

Rich Ard

Hello,

I'm an analyst for and airport. I would like to count number of days between the landings of different aircraft types (cargo aircraft or freighters). The data does not come in clean.

My first column is dates. The following columns are aircraft types, but each day the same aircraft don't necessarily land each day.

e.g.

1/1/16, AN225, AN124, B747-F, B777F
1/2/16, B747-COMBI, B777F, AN124, B737-COMBI
1/3/16, B747F, AN225, B737F, A320F

Et cetera

I have several years of data. Data is daily aircraft landings.

Hacked at the forum first for something similar but I don't think I know how to search. Tried searching for DATEIF and count days between dates but couldn't find a solution.

Thank you in advance for any help you can offer.
Rich Ard from Texas

Excel Facts

Fastest way to copy a worksheet?
Hold down the Ctrl key while dragging tab for Sheet1 to the right. Excel will make a copy of the worksheet.
Hard to make out what your data looks like - and what would some sample answers look like?

Upvote 0
Hard to make out what your data looks like - and what would some sample answers look like?

Hi Ford

I'm looking for patterns of usage. Are aircraft types used daily or 3 days on then 3 days off? Is it a random pattern of usage? This is why I'm interested in counting the days between landings. There's a longer story but I don't want to consume pages for an explanation. The short story is to eventually approach an airline with a business case. One revenue source for airports are landings. Hence my a interest in analyzing landings.

My data would look something like this. Equipment Code is an aircraft type.

Again, big thank you for your help.

Dynamic Table Report for nonstop Cargo (Air Only) landings for travel between October 1, 2016 and October 11, 2016

DateEquipment CodeEquipment CodeEquipment CodeEquipment Code
Oct 1, 201674M77FSU9PA2
Oct 2, 201674F74MM1F124
Oct 3, 201674M225PA2SU9
Oct 4, 201674M77XM1F124