Creating a printable list based on dates from other Excel Files

DanBlooms

Hi there,

I work for a Wedding Suit Hire company.

I need to create a list in excel to check what Wedding Suit parties need to be packed for that week.

What I want to happen is this:

• Every Sunday morning I print out a list of the wedding parties that need to be packed that week.
  • I want this list to be created from excel checking other workbooks which contain the information for an individual wedding party and checking the date that the wedding is on, then if the date is within the next 7 days it gets added to the list of wedding parties to be packed.
  • If the wedding party has already been collected or the date of the wedding has passed it needs to be removed from the list.

Firstly, is it actually possible to achieve this with Excel?

Secondly, can anyone offer any starting points for me to look at as I am new to excel programming? If anyone can offer any advice on what topics to read up on that I need to know to achieve my goal, that would be really appreciated.

Thank you,

Dan

Excel Facts

How to find 2nd largest value in a column?
MAX finds the largest value. =LARGE(A:A,2) will find the second largest. =SMALL(A:A,3) will find the third smallest
In order to help answer your question I have a few questions:
1. Are spreadsheets located in multiple directories? Do the directories vary?
2. Is there more than one wedding per spreadsheet?
3. Is the date of the wedding stored in the same place in each spreadsheet?
4. What does "if the wedding party has already been collected" mean? Does this mean you've already packed it? If so where is that information stored in each file? Same place in each file? If not, where?

Upvote 0
In order to help answer your question I have a few questions:
1. Are spreadsheets located in multiple directories? Do the directories vary?
2. Is there more than one wedding per spreadsheet?