Cube formulas

Matias D

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello,

I am new to the cube functions and also new to this forum so any help is greatly appreciated.
I am working with a simple table that has 2 columns, Column A: Person with text values Anna, Chuck, Kelly and Cassandra. Column B: Region with text values central, west, south and east.
1588440664686.png

Using the cubeset and cuberankedmemeber i am able to produce a list that contains the person names. But then i am not able to produce a cube formula that retrieves the region name for each person name. It is possible to do this using cube formulas? I tried using cubset and cuberankedmember but not any positive result. Thanks!

Excel Facts

Can Excel fill bagel flavors?
You can teach Excel a new custom list. Type the list in cells, File, Options, Advanced, Edit Custom Lists, Import, OK
Welome @Matias D - An initial warning, I am a newbie with cube formulas in Pivot Tables, so take this for what it is. Using a table similar to yours and (a) creating a connection and Pivot table, (b) a copy of that converted to formulas (with the RegionL being a function shown in the screenshot), you can access the regions with a formula, but perhaps not in a straight-through way (because I don't know whether the function can be replicated in an in-line, standalone cell's formula). Anyway, perhaps this will help:
Book1
ABCDEFGH
1PersonRegionRow LabelsRegionLRow LabelsRegionL
2AnnWAnnWAnnW
3ChuckECassSCassS
4KelCChuckEChuckE
5CassSKelCKelC
6Grand TotalW.E.C.SGrand TotalW.E.C.S
8Table1Converted to formulasPivot Table
Sheet1
Cell Formulas
RangeFormula
E1E1=CUBEMEMBER("ThisWorkbookDataModel","[Measures].[RegionL]")
D2D2=CUBEMEMBER("ThisWorkbookDataModel","[Table1].[Person].&[Ann]")
E2:E6E2=CUBEVALUE("ThisWorkbookDataModel",$D2,E$1)
D3D3=CUBEMEMBER("ThisWorkbookDataModel","[Table1].[Person].&[Cass]")
D4D4=CUBEMEMBER("ThisWorkbookDataModel","[Table1].[Person].&[Chuck]")