Excel Power Query: Custom Text String Formula

Kieffer_Farn

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. MacOS
Hi,

I'm looking for some help to create a custom text string formula to convert this original date text string (20230926173000) into this exact format (2023-09-26T17:30:00.000). The original date text string is always this length.

It new sting has to be this exact format.

I could really use the complete formula that I can simply copy and paste into to Schema view when in Power Editor.

I tried building this using multiple new column inputs and have failed. It next to impossible to troubleshot incorrect formulas in Power Query (way more difficult than Excel itself). I'm self taught in using Excel and Google Sheets formulas and can muddle through but Power Query requires a completely new programing / code skill set that I'm having a difficult time with as a newbie.

The name of the column with the original date text sting is Clock In (YYYYMMDDHHMMSS). I don't want to change this name since that's who it's exported from the source data.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Kieffer

Excel Facts

Links? Where??
If Excel says you have links but you can't find them, go to Formulas, Name Manager. Look for old links to dead workbooks & delete.
Welcome to the MrExcel Message Board!

This is almost the same solution that I have recently provided for another question.

The following is the code adapted to your question. Create a blank query and use the Advanced Editor to copy and paste this code. Change the table name with yours and execute it.
Power Query:
let
    Source = Excel.CurrentWorkbook(){[Name="Table1"]}[Content],
    Convert = Table.TransformColumns(Source, 
            {"Clock In (YYYYMMDDHHMMSS)", 
                each DateTime.ToText(
                        DateTime.FromText(
                            Text.From(_), 
                            [Format="yyyyMMddHHmmss"]
                        ),