Date Last Modified (in cell)

Jarmadon

I want to know if there is a way to have a cell beside a series of cells that will change its date (and time) when any of the cells in the series is changed.

On a single row, I have four materials that total to a fifth cell. The 6th cell in that row, I would like to have a "date last modified" that would change if any of the first five cell's value is changed.

Is this possible?

Excel Facts

Which Excel functions can ignore hidden rows?
The SUBTOTAL and AGGREGATE functions ignore hidden rows. AGGREGATE can also exclude error cells and more.
Hi and welcome to the Board!!
In the WorkSheet module
Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(byVal Target as Range)
If Target.Count > 1 Then exit Sub
If Target.Row < 2 Then Exit Sub
If Target.Column > 4 Then Exit Sub
Cells(Target.Row, 6) = Now
End Sub

lenze

Upvote 0
I am a novice at Excel and do not recognize what you have written. Is there a function or such? Or is this the only way?

thanks!

Upvote 0
There is no Function tht I am aware of that would do this. This is the only way I know of that you can do that for each change in your row. It is called an Event Procedure. RightClick the Sheet Tab and choose "View Code'. Copy and paste the code above to the white panel. Return to Excel(Alt+Q). Now, as written, whenever a cell in changed in Columns A:D, Rows 2 or down, the date and time will be entered in Column "F" in the same row as the changed cell. If those ranges don't fit your sheet, post back where the cells you want to monitor are and where you want the Date/Time. If you want, you could also place the name of the user who made the change. You can even add a comment to the changed cell with the time, who changed it ,and the previous value. If any of that has interest, post back.

lenze

Upvote 0
Thanks!!

Here are the details of my worksheet ....

The first row is row #6.
The columns are columns D-K
The column for the "Date Last Modified" answer is column M